Hi, I’m looking for information on what happens to things when a user is delete and what happens when they are deactivated.
E.g What happens to their accounts, contacts and tasks?
I’m not a hubspot user but will be admining accounts, I have not been able to find any article relating to this. One of the main reasons is I wish to implement SCIM at some point and it will be actively deleting accounts so I wish to understand the process fully.
When a user is removed from an account, HubSpot will not delete any assets or activities that they created. This includes assets such as blog posts, pages, lists, workflows, forms, and reports, as well as sales activities such as logged emails and notes. Assets will show Deactivated User (removed user’s email address) as the creator.
Any scheduling pages created by the removed user will be deleted.
Any social messages published by the removed user will remain published. However, if the removed user was the administrator for any social media accounts, you may need to reconnect those accounts.
Any sequences, templates, and documents created in your account will remain; however, the removed user must have shared their sales templates prior to removal for other users to access them.
If you remove a user from your account, Deactivated User (removed user’s email address) will appear in the ownership property for any contacts, companies, deals, and tickets owned by that user. If your HubSpot account is synced with Salesforce and the removed user is still a Salesforce user, the user’s name will appear as Name (Salesforce), as it does for SFDC users who never had HubSpot access.
After a user is removed from your account, they will no longer appear as an option in filters, such as in lists or dashboards. You can display removed users in your filters by selecting the Show inactive owners checkbox when filtering.
Regarding your question on records owned by a user, you need to re-assign them to other users manually.
Hi @MArendain! Good morning, I happened upon your question from 2023. I hope you found the answer sooner, but just in case ~ no, contacts will not be automatically reassigned. I’d suggest:
Going to CRM > Contacts before deactivating or deleting a user
Filtering by Contact owner is any of {user} to see all the contacts assigned to that person
Check the select all box and clicking the option in blue that will appear below to select ALL the contacts meeting the criteria beyond that page OR individually checking off the contacts you want to reassign.
Click Assign to assign in bulk to someone else. Then deactivate the user once the records/assets are reassigned as needed. Assign ownership of records
Given the original question was from so long ago and @karstenkoehler provided an accepted solution (thank you, Karsten!), for a quicker response, I’d suggest posting your question in a new conversation in the CRM & Sales Hub community board after clicking Create a post on the right in the future.
Hi @tstone!
Good morning! I know @karstenkoehler answered this quite thoroughly awhile ago and the solution was accepted, but I came across this while troubleshooting a Support ticket and have some additional insight. Since you can’t filter by deactivated users in the updated CRM > Tasks view, I wanted to share an alternative solution to identify and managed opened tasks assigned to a deactivated user.
The best option would be to reassign before you deactivate (or you can reactivate to reassign and then deactivate again). OR
Considering you can filter by deactivated users under CRM > Contact or Company > Advanced filters OR in Lists, I’d recommend creating a list (be it contact- or company-based depending on where you’re logging tasks) to identify records with an open task assigned to a deactivated user.
To create an active list that filters by this criteria, go to CRM > List > Create list > select Company or Contact and Active list > Add filter
Select Activity as the object for the filter
Add the following filters
Activity is assigned to {check off Show deactivated users and select user}AND (in the refinement And + Add Filter for the same activity)
Activity type is any of TaskAND
Task is any of {check off all statuses but completed}
That will at least let you isolate which records have open tasks for the deactivated user.
Then you can either use those lists to crosscheck the CRM > Tasks and check off the ones with those associated contacts and companies and bulk assign to the same person if needed.
Or you can go directly to those records from the list and reassign one by one on the activities in the Task tab.
Wanted to share this additional solution that worked for one of our other customers who filed a support ticket in case it helps others!
Best,
Jessie
HubSpot Support / Community Moderator