How do you manage users who leave the company but owns various objects?

Regulary we have colleagues joining and leaving our company and the ones that leaves usally own various obejcts (Tasks, Deals, Contacts, Companies etc). I want to remove them from the HubSpot account.
All the open obejcts are handed over to their replacement, but what about the closed stuff, specifically deals?

Transferring closed deals, lost or/and won, affect the one who receives it and ruins their performance / history.

I can deactivite them, but is this the best practice when it comes to the data cleaning? How does the closed deals affect the deals reporting?
I’m looking for alternatives.

I believe instead of deleting this user simply assign an unpaid seat and keep all the closed items with this user or the second option is to deactivate the user. The user will indeed be unassigned from any records when you remove them from the account, but the deal record itself will not be “unassigned”. Instead, you’ll see **Deactivated User (removed user’s email address)**in the ownership property for those records. To locate the deal records that were owned by the deactivated or removed user, you can check the box for “show inactive owners” when filtering.

Additional info on the impact of removing a user from your account can be found in this article.

I hope this clarifies!

Just to share my two cents.

Currently, we deactivate users who no longer needs HubSpot account. This applies to those colleagues who have left the company.

According to our experience (this may change as HubSpot is evolving), keeping old accounts as “deactivated” allows us to filter data by selecting those deactivated users.

This is handy when we try to identify who is the root cause of certain issues.

Another consideration is to avoid creating new accounts with the same email address.

With deactivated accounts still available to be viewed, when creating a new HubSpot account, we can easily avoid those old email addresses and inform our IT department to change the email address for the new user.

Otherwise, the same email address may be associated with both the old user and the new user. It may create confusions in dividing the responsibility among team members.

Hey @Hildegaard

so this is a very good (and frequent question)

In general the best suggestion is to deactivate the user as soon as it leave the company and hand over all the active assets (such as contacts, deals, tickets, task).

so this way you will still have the historic data for reports of the things done/closed. Until for example Dic2024. Then in 2025 you can delete the old user if you are not going to consult the old data anymore.

Let me add here that even if you delete the user, the user name (or ID specifically) will still remain in the CRM and its going to be accesible for reporting. So it’s not really lost.

Hope this helps