Hi.
I need to merge two companies. In the past I chose the target company, click on actions and merge. When I now click on “actions” the merge function no longer appears. Who can help?
Best regards
Sebastian
Hi.
I need to merge two companies. In the past I chose the target company, click on actions and merge. When I now click on “actions” the merge function no longer appears. Who can help?
Best regards
Sebastian
@Sebastian_L you’re currently clicking into the “About this company” sidebar section which is just a list of properties. You need to click the actions menu higher up for record related actions:
Thanks so much. My mistake. I got confused with all the different action buttons…
Hi @Sebastian_L,
These instructions should still apply: Merge records
Keep in mind that there are new dedicate merge permissions which you might not have assigned:
Merge permissions for Contacts, Companies, Deals, Tickets, and Custom Objects
What is it?
A new permission each for Contacts, Companies, Deals, Tickets, and Custom Objects allows admins to control whether a user can merge each specific type of object, separately from their permission, to edit that object.
** Note: Changes to Custom Objects and Create and Merge permissions will not show up in the permissions history page, but we’re working on adding this change.
Why does it matter?
Currently, any user that has permission to edit an object at all, such as a Contact, Company, Deal, Ticket, or Custom Object, is allowed to merge records for that object type. This has resulted in a concern from customers for data hygiene. They must allow their users to edit records to perform their jobs, but in doing so, they are forced to allow their users to also be able to merge records.
How does it work?
Users that have the ability to change permissions for other Users should navigate to Users & Teams where they can edit Users’ permissions to determine what access levels for merging records for Contacts, Companies, Deals, Tickets, and Custom Objects that the user should have (ex. all contacts, their contacts, their team’s contacts, none).
Originally, we will default each User to their Merge permission for each object type is the same level of their permission to edit that object type.
Who gets it?
All hubs and tiers
Please check with someone in your HubSpot portal with the ability to update user permissions.
If you have confirmed that you have the necessary permissions, and if you cannot find the options explained in the article about merging above, then this would be a bug and I’d recommend reaching out to HubSpot support directly.
Best regards