Lock notes on deals

Hello, is there any way to lock notes in deals? We need to make sure that only the user which created the note, can edit it.

Thanks fo your help!

Hi @shabsn,

As far as I know this is currently not possible. If a user can access (=view) a deal, they can also add and edit notes.

In other words, you’d have to restrict access to these records entirely: HubSpot user permissions guide – granting deals view access and deals edit access only to the deal owner (or the team of the deal owner).

Best regards!

Okay, got it. Thank you. This needs to be implemented in the future…

Hi @shabsn,

Good news, this is now possible and in beta :slightly_smiling_face:


CRM | Account Settings

Edit & Delete Permissions for Notes

August 14, 2024

What is it?

Two new permissions, one for edit and one for delete, are being added which can limit the ability for users to edit and delete logged notes across HubSpot. The permissions can be set to the following levels:

  • All notes: The user can edit or delete all notes.
  • Notes their team owns: The user can edit or delete notes they or their team members created.
  • Notes they own: The user can only edit or delete notes that they created.
  • Unassigned: The user can edit or delete notes without an owner. This is an additional option when access is set to notes they own or emails their team owns.
  • None: The user cannot edit or delete any notes.

Why does it matter?

Today when a user logs a note to HubSpot, any HubSpot user with access to view the note is able to edit or delete that note. This is an issue for customers who have different employees accessing each other’s notes, but who have concerns over those notes being modified or deleted. Two new permissions are being introduced to limit access to editing and deleting notes in HubSpot.

How does it work?

Users that have the ability to change permissions for other Users should navigate to Users & Teams where they can edit Users’ permissions to determine what access level for editing and deleting Notes that a User should have.

Originally, we will provide the User’s Edit & Delete Notes permissions to match their current permissions for Viewing Notes.

Who gets it?

All hubs and tiers


The beta can be found here. If you’re not seeing it yet, you’ll have be patient a bit longer or contact your customers success manager:

Best regards!