Simple workflows are triggered by the action that occurs. They are not as complex as a traditional workflow in the Pro/Enterprise plans. So if you turn the workflow on after the submission, only submitters from that point onwards will get the actions you intended. Anyone who submitted prior will not go through retroactively.