Unenroll Vs. remove from a workflow

I’ll appreciate it if someone can explain the difference between setting up an action in a workflow to unenroll a contact.

Vs.

Configuring in the workflow settings “Unenrollment and suppression” --> Remove from a specific workflow.

Thank you

Hi @OAskarov,

The first option will unenroll the contact from the workflow they are currently in; the workflow where they are currently completing actions. Setting unenrollment, exclusion or goal criteria are effectively all doing the same thing. They will remove the contact from the same workflow. When meeting certain criteria in workflow A, contact is unenrolled from workflow A. (Just to clarify, there is no workflow action that unenrolls a contact from a workflow, only criteria and settings for unenrollment.)

With the second option, you can specify that a the contact should be unenrolled from another workflow they might be enrolled in. For example, you can specify in workflow A that upon enrollment in workflow A, a contact should be unenrolled from contact B.

Hope this helps!

Hello Karsten,

Thank you for that info.

I was sure there was an option to unenroll a contact with an “Action” from specific workflows.

I appreciate the help.

Oren

Hi @OAskarov,

You might have experienced a beta version of a feature – not all HubSpot portals are equal.

Let me know if you have any follow-up questions!

Got you.

Thank you for that answer

Hi @karstenkoehler when you select ‘Remove from specific workflows’ are they re-enrolled into those workflows once they’ve completed the workflow that’s removed them (hope that makes sense).

So for example, contact is enrolled in workflow B and unenrolled from workflow A. When they’ve completed workflow B, are they automatically enrolled back into workflow A if they still meet the criteria for it?

Hi @LBennett7,

No, the unenrollment is not temporary in the sense that the workflow is blocking participation of a contact in a sequence. The contact is removed from the sequence and considered so by all other tools as well regardless of the status of the workflow.

Best regards