I am new to HubSpot tracking code and
I have a scenario where a user login and starts using the chat when the user logout and another different user login on the same browser the chat keep showing the chat of the previous user who logged out
is there a way to avoid this
Hey @Ndahigeze, thanks for reaching out!
First off, here is the Knowledge Base Article from HubSpot on tracking website visitors/how the tracking code works.
Like the article mentions, HubSpot will cookie your visitors and always try to identify revisits. You mentioned using the same browser — since user 1 was there first, HubSpot has them cookied. HubSpot assumes that any revisits from that same browser/cookie are from user 1, so that’s why you would see user 1 data even though user 2 is using the browser now. This setup is what you would typically want since it’s not often that multiple users will be sharing the same exact device.
Hope this helps!!
If you do have multiple users using a single device, you need to use incognito mode. Incognito mode will prevent HubSpot from tracking user activity, so each user can have their own experience as long as they’re using a separate incognito window.