Hello,
I have several workflows that are dependent on a certain user being the company or contact owner. I want to deactivate that user and replace with a different one in the workflows. Before I deactivate, I wanted to know what will happen to the contacts and companies that fit the existing criteria? What happens to the tasks? Should I replace the user in the workflow criteria and update the contact/company ownership before I deactivate?
Hi @kstevens,
That depends on the exact settings of the workflow. In general, when you change the enrollment criteria of the workflow, HubSpot prompts you to decide whether you want to enroll all existing contacts which match the criteria.
Whether it makes sense to re-enroll really depends on the records, there wouldn’t be a one-size-fits-all response here. Could you share more context? If you share a screenshot of the workflow, I can assist further.
The ownership of existing records can be updated in various ways: Assign ownership of records For example, I prefer to bulk edit records in most scenarios. Tasks can currently not be re-assigned in bulk. You would have to delete the existing ones and re-create them for the new task owner or have the new owner filter for the old owner’s tasks.
Hope this helps!
Thank you for your response. What happens to contacts or companies that are futher in the stream of the workflow? For example in branch 3 of the below workflow? Will they be removed and re-enrolled?
Hi @kstevens,
Those contacts should stay in the workflow. They’ll not be removed when you change the enrollment criteria and they’ll complete any steps yet in front of them.
Let me know if you have any additional questions, happy to help.
Best regards!
Hi @kstevens,
There’s a new product update which you might find helpful in the context of deactivating users that are referenced in workflows: HubSpot Login and Sign in
Find & replace users references in Workflows
What is it?
Admins can now find and replace user references across workflows in bulk! This makes it easy to identify workflows that reference a specific user—such as those that assign deals or tickets—and replace that user with another user. Admins no longer need to manually open and edit each workflow to update user references
Why does it matter?
As teams grow and change, workflows often reference users who leave the company, change roles, or are temporarily unavailable. Until now, there’s been no easy way to bulk identify and update workflows a specific user is referenced, forcing admins to manually review potentially hundreds or thousands of workflows. This manual process is time-consuming, error-prone, and easy to miss, leading to broken automations, failed notifications, and disrupted business processes. Find and replace user references gives admins a reliable way to quickly update workflows during role changes, reorganizations, or coverage gaps, reducing administrative burden and keeping automations running smoothly.
How does it work?
This feature is only available for admins.
From the Settings Page:
- Go to Settings.
- Navigate to Users & Teams.
- Search for the user you want to update, then click into their user profile.
- In the user profile, navigate to the Review user’s records and assets section.
- Find ‘Workflow configurations’ and click the ‘View All’ button.
- You’ll be taken to the Workflows screen with the find/replace experience.
- Select the user you want to find (the one currently referenced in workflows).
- Select the user you want to replace them with.
- Click Replace to apply the changes.
From the Workflows
Please note: Replacements may take a few minutes to complete, depending on how many workflow references need to be updated.
Who gets it?
Marketing Hub Professional, Marketing Hub Enterprise, Data Hub Professional, Data Hub Enterprise, Sales Hub Professional, Sales Hub Enterprise, Service Hub Professional, Service Hub Enterprise, Smart CRM Professional, Smart CRM Enterprise
Hope this helps!