Clearing a workflow's "memory" / history

A short and sweet idea / need!
Context

  • When going live with a workflow, things sometimes go wrong and we need to turn off the workflow, make changes, and turn the workflow back on again. We’ve all been there…
  • When re-enrolment is enabled, records that were impacted by the issue the first time around will be resolved by running through the workflow again (Enrol existing when switched on)
  • When re-enrolment is disabled by design however, the problem comes to light
    • You have to turn on re-enrolment temporarily to push out the changes, this is not always easy to do depending on the enrolment conditions - Some of which can’t be used as re-enrolment criteria.
    • A workaround is to clone the workflow and delete the original, but again this is extra effort - Some actions don’t clone very well (3rd party integration actions, custom coded actions, etc)

Idea/Proposed solution

  • I want to be able to hit a workflow with an Amnesia baton, causing it to forget it had ever run records through the workflow before. Allowing me to easily re-enrol records again without the effort of making work arounds.
    • A ‘Forget past enrolment’ button would work too I guess…

PS. Obviously, for auditing purposes, the enrolment history and action logs themselves shouldn’t be wiped.