Tips, Tricks & Best Practices

GabrielSkelly
Participant

How to Use HS for Customer Success - CSM

I am new to Hubspot and am looking on how to use the software for Customer Success. I manage the sales process post sale. This is training and onboarding, suport, contacts, 100% of renewals. I need to set up a pipeline and task progression with notifications and templates.

How do you do this?

Thank you!

-Gabe

20 Replies 20
stuartbalcombe
Participant | Partner
Participant | Partner

Hey @GabrielSkelly the good news is it's totally possible to run customers success in HubSpot with a little configuration. Below I've outlined the roadmap I'd suggest and included a video walkthrough.

While HubSpot might be best known as marketing and sales tool. It can connect all your customer facing teams.

That means they’ll always know:

1. Where customers are
2. Who is responsible for what
3. What’s next to make them successful

Here’s the roadmap for getting started:

1. Use pipelines to define each stage of the customer journey

→ Create your pipelines using tickets, deals, or custom objects

→ Define required fields to move between stages

→ Define requirements to move between pipelines. eg. Sales to onboarding.

2. Bring your customer data together in one place

→ Sync product usage date to HubSpot using 3rd party tools like Hightouch or Syncari

→ Use workflows to make it available on all records as needed

→ Group properties on objects for easy access and cross team visibility

3. Use automated workflows to define journeys and enable your team

→ Automate sales to onboarding handoffs

→ Move customers through pipeline stages

→ Kickoff playbooks and sequences for renewals, QBRs, or any critical lifecycle event

→ Escalate “at-risk” accounts to avoid churn and increase retention

→ Keep data in sync between teams and surface what is needed at the right time to be effective

4. Align on customer outcomes with a shared success plan