Marketing Integrations

RMaxwell

User Community Forum

SOLVE

Hi. I'm pretty new to Hubspot and we use it to provide a User Community area where we can share information on events and other resources. Our clients would like us to create a new user forum where they can share ideas and ask direct questions of each other. Does anyone have experience of doing this that you'd be willing to share - in terms of what software to use, how to set up the forum etc? Thanks

0 Upvotes
2 Accepted solutions
Ben_M
Solution
Key Advisor

User Community Forum

SOLVE

There's a lot out there.  For instance, this Hubspot forum runs on Lithium (now part of Khoros).  But there are other community forum solutions.  I would start with a few questions to answer before you start looking:

- Do you want to host it yourself or have it hosted for you?

- If hosting yourself what server technologies (PHP/etc)?

- Do you need to integrate with anything (other logins/etc)?

View solution in original post

Ben_M
Solution
Key Advisor

User Community Forum

SOLVE

I would look into those solutions a bit more as that article is originally from Mar-2021 and is starting to show its age. BBPress for WP that it is recommended is not compatible with the latest version of Wordpress (6) and the fact that it still has PHP 5.6 as a minimum requirement would make me question the security of the code base itself ( https://wordpress.org/plugins/bbpress/ ).  There are even questions on the bbpress page forum that debate whether the solution is still actively maintained. This tends to be one of the problems with free plugins in the Wordpress world. They may be great while the community actively maintains them but over time if that interest wanes, then the plugin becomes more of a risk.