Tips, Tricks & Best Practices

sharradog

Using HubSpot to track conferences, events, etc. as a public speaker

SOLVE

I'm new to Hubspot, looking for advice on how to set up a system to track conference leads.  For instance, a conference is in October 2018 and has a call for speakers in February. How do I set up a system to track the conferences (that may have multiple contacts). Do I add them as a "company"?  
Sorry for the newbie questions, thanks for any advice on setting up the systems properly.

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
MFrankJohnson
Solution
Thought Leader

SOLVE

_hubspot-button-accept-as-solution-gif-v00.gif

>>So, if I have 50 conferences for instance that I am contacting - would each contact have a drop down?

That's up to you @sharradog.

HubSpot gives you the freedom to set this up in many different ways. In our model, there's only one dropdown at the Company level -- the venue.

>>Could I maybe organize them by Quarter? So that each dropdown field is Q1-2019, Q2-2019 ?

Yes. Excellent idea.
However, we'd recommend using names like 2019-Q1, 2019-Q2, 2020-Q1, 2020-Q2 instead. That way, if/when we eventually need to export and sort our list at some point in the future it sorts in a meaningful way.

Bottom line is that you have options. You can build the solution that best suits your specific use case.

Note: Please search for recent posts as HubSpot evolves to be the #1 CRM platform of choice world-wide.

Hope that helps.

Be well,
Frank

www.mfrankjohnson.com

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10
JKazarian
Contributor

SOLVE

Would using HubSpot Custom Tracking Events work? It may be a cleaner way to implement this without adding additional custom properties. 

https://knowledge.hubspot.com/analytics-tools/create-custom-behavioral-events

0 Upvotes
MFrankJohnson
Thought Leader

SOLVE

Q: Using HubSpot to track conferences, events, etc. as a public speaker.