Tips, Tricks & Best Practices

jennysowyrda
Community Manager
Community Manager

Quick Tip: Associating Contacts, Companies, and Deals - A Case Study in Lemonade

SOLVE

Hi there,

My name is Jenny Sowyrda and I am a Community Manager for the HubSpot Community. 

One way to think of contacts, companies and deals in terms of the simplest business model there is: the lemonade stand.

1. Contacts

In general, contacts are the human connections you are making for all elements of your business. A deal is pitched to a human, a company is run by a human, your emails are read and answered by humans.

In my lemonade stand business, the contacts are the potential customers I have. Drivers passing by, children out riding bikes, parents out jogging-they are all the contacts in my CRM because they are my potential customers. They are my contacts.

Picture1.png

1. Companies

Companies are more than where your contact works. A company defines your contact’s budget, resources, and ultimately whether your contact will be able to buy your product.

For my lemonade stand, the neighborhoods that I market my lemonade to are the companies. If I set up a lemonade stand in a neighborhood that no one drives or walks through, or a neighborhood that has six other lemonade stands, I am not going to sell my lemonade. These neighborhoods would not be the right companies for me to market to. And just like companies can have multiple contacts, neighborhoods can have multiple individuals eagerly lining up for my lemonade.

Picture2.png

An important note—just like an individual cannot live in two neighborhoods at the same time, a contact in HubSpot cannot be associated with multiple companies at the same time.

1. Deals

Generally speaking, deals are the business transactions that are associated with a contact or a company.

Picture3.png