Tips, Tricks & Best Practices

CMathes
Participant

Filter Contacts for Workflow Email

SOLVE

Hey everyone!

I am new to HubSpot and the community - but am eager to learn.

Question - I am creating a Workflow to automatically send an email once the "Deal Stage" has been changed. Is there a way to send to some Contacts, instead of All? I see an Association Label needs to be created, but that is where I hit a wall, because I don't understand how an Association Label can help with this. 

Does HubSpot not have this functionality, or am I overlooking a step?

Any and all help is appreciated! 🙂

I look forward to getting to know more of the Community. 

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
karstenkoehler
Solution
Hall of Famer | Partner
Hall of Famer | Partner

SOLVE

Hi @CMathes,

If you want to send an email to specific contacts when a deal hits a certain deal stage, it's easier to create a contact-based workflow instead of a deal-based workflow.

You're right, in a deal-based workflow you can select association labels. Currently, these labels can't be set by workflow and all forms of updating them have a manual component. What you'd be doing here is telling HubSpot to only send an email to contacts associated with the deal matching a certain label. This label describes the relationship between contact and deal.

Alternatively, create a contact-based workflow. In the enrollment criteria, you can also reference deal properties. Select the Deal stage and all other contact criteria you want to use to narrow down who's receiving your email. Using a contact-based workflow has one big downside: It can only be triggered once. It's not possible to re-enroll contacts into a contact-based workflow based on a deal property. In other words, if your contact-based workflow sends the email and then a new deal moves to the same stage again, the workflow wouldn't fire again. (If you're customers usually purchase once, this is not an issue. If repeated purchases are common, it would.)