Tips, Tricks & Best Practices

IBrockschmidt
Participant

Can I trigger enrollment on a field change?

Résolue

Hi friends,

I would like to enroll customers in a workflow when they change their preferred email.  Is there a way to do that by using a 'Contact Properties' Trigger?  Or am I going to have to do something else creative?  

Thanks!

P.S. I'm new to Hubspot.   My main experience is with Salesforce rather than marketing.  😀

0 Votes
2 Solutions acceptées
IBrockschmidt
Solution
Participant

Résolue

Thank you Karsten!  This is excellent! I appreciate your thorough answer.  My use case has to do with Contacts that have already have a secondary email addresses declared in Hubspot. I suspect I don't have the full understanding yet (I appreciate you helping me out! 😊

If the contact uses a Secondary Email address in the field of a form my understanding is that :

If the contact has cookies the Secondary Email address that is filled out in the form will become the Primary Email address.  I believe this will happen regardless if Hubspot already knows of the Secondary Email address or not.

But if the contact does NOT have any cookies what will happen?

1. Will Hubspot be able to find the correct contact based on the declared Secondary Email address? Then log the activity and will then make that Secondary Email address the Primary? OR

2. Will Hubspot try and make a NEW contact and then....
    1.   Fail because another contact has that Secondary Email address declared?  Does the activity get lost?  OR
    2.   Create another contact with that Secondary Email address as primary that we then have to de-dup by hand?
    3.  Or something else that hasn't occured to me yet? 😉

Thank you!

Iswari

Voir la solution dans l'envoi d'origine

0 Votes
karstenkoehler
Solution
Au panthéon de la communauté | Partenaire solutions

Résolue

Hi @IBrockschmidt,

@IBrockschmidt wrote: