Tips, Tricks & Best Practices

LHögemark

Actions in workflows depending on forms respons

SOLVE

Hi, 

I'm new to Hubspot and learning about workflows and forms, and have a question... 

I'm setting up a workflow for an award contest. I have created a form where people can nominate someone in 4 different categories. 

I now would like to send an automated email to the nominees after they have been nominated. For this, I have figured out I can use the contact property "Nominee Email" and set up a workflow based on this email address, right? But, if possible I would also like to include a personal token in the automated email, stating what category they are nominated for. Is this possible to attract from the form and into the email? 

If this is not possible, a different solution could be to set up different emails for each of the categories, so whenever someone nominates someone for each category, a different email is sent out to the nominee, based on what category they are nominated for, if that makes sence. Is this possible at all? 

Any help or advice on how to best solve this in an automated kind of way is truly appreciated 🙂 

Many thanks!

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
karstenkoehler
Solution
Hall of Famer | Partner
Hall of Famer | Partner

SOLVE

Hi @LHögemark,

Happy to help here.

Generally, it's not possible to send external marketing emails to any other field than the default Email address field. If you're enrolling contacts into a workflow based on the nominee email address, HubSpot will still send the email to the default Email field.

If you want to send emails to the nominees, you should first create a contact record for the nominated person in your workflow. You can use the Create record workflow action to create a contact record for the nominee first. In this action, you can populate the Email of the contact record about to be created by using a personalization token for Nominee email.

karstenkoehler_0-1673369870296.png