Reporting & Analytics

FBertasi
Contributor

New Contacts Tracking in Campaigns

Hi there,

I am pretty new in using the function campaign in Hubspot and I am working on getting a precise tracking from the original source to the generated revenue. 

I have read lots of stuff about it but there is still something that isn't right.

Opening our last campaign, I focus my self on the number of "New Contact" under the "Performance" tab.

This number is not allign to the number of the real new contacts that this campaigns created.

The asset which created the new contacts is connected to the campaign. 

The new contacts have visited our website for the first time thanks to the campaigns. And they filled out a form so they turned in "New Contacts" thanks to this campaign (according to the history in their "profile" in HS).

So I do not understand why the number of new contacts in our last campaign is zero 😞 

Can someone help me?

Thank you very much

Greetings from Italy

0 Upvotes
4 Replies 4
FBertasi
Contributor

Hi there @PamCotton 

I haven’t solved my problem yet. Can anyone help me?

Thanks,

0 Upvotes
kvlschaefer
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @FBertasi,

Thank you for reaching out!

I wanted to share this snippet from this campaign FAQ helps article which explains how contacts are bucketed under New Contacts (First Touch) and New Contacts (Last Touch):

"First touch contacts are attributed to the campaign that brought them to your website for the first time. These contacts will be counted under New Contacts (First touch) when:

• the first page they visit has a URL containing utm_campaign parameters;
  • the first page they visit is associated with the campaign; or
  • the first page they visit is through a referral keyword associated with the campaign.

Last touch contacts are attributed to the campaign that led to their conversion. These contacts will be counted under the New Contacts (Last touch) when: