Accidentally Deleted A User Which Is an Owner to Inbound Leads

SOLVE
louiscrush
Member

When we removed the user we lost old existing leads that we’re previously tagged under her were actually lost.

Is there any way we can un-do that action and then have those leads regained? Basically all our old inbound leads were listed “Contact Owner” as that user and now that her account is no longer within Hubspot we’re no longer able to connect with the contacts.

Could we change it back and then recover these leads in Hubspot under the contact owner.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

0 Upvotes
2 Accepted solutions

Accepted Solutions
MFrankJohnson
Solution
Thought Leader

_hubspot-button-accept-as-solution-gif-v00.gif

 

Q: When we removed the user we lost old existing leads that we’re previously tagged under her were actually lost.

Is there any way we can un-do that action and then have those leads regained? Basically all our old inbound leads were listed “Contact Owner” as that user and now that her account is no longer within Hubspot we’re no longer able to connect with the contacts.

Could we change it back and then recover these leads in Hubspot under the contact owner.?

 

Short A: n/a

 

Longer A:

Haven't seen HubSpot support 'undo' a delete user action, but hey, there's a 1st time for everything. That being said, deleting a HubSpot user should NOT delete any contact records owned by them.

[Need confirmation from HubSpot Support: @jennysowyrda]

 

We typically see HubSpot 'teams' lose access / visibility when a team member owner is removed from the team (or deleted).  This is because "Users with Team ownership permissions can access records owned by any members of their assigned team(s) and, if you have parent-child teams (Enterprise accounts only), the members of their team's child teams.".

(see image)mfjlabs-screenshot-HubSpot user permissions guide-teams-20181017-003654.png

 

 

- see HubSpot user permissions guide

 

Solution: Have a non-team member with access to all contacts reassign the contacts to an existing team member.

 

Can't wait to see what we can help you build on HubSpot today.

 

Best,
Frank

Remote  B2B Digital Marketing Manager


hubspot-solutions-signature-mfrankjohnson-v05.png

MFrankJohnson.com | Connect on LinkedIn

Find posts quickly ... accept this solution now.

 

Note: The date of each post here is increasingly important as HubSpot evolves to be the #1 CRM platform of choice world-wide.

-- Visit

 

Hope that helps.

 

Be well,
Frank


HubSpot's Hiring World-Wide!

View solution in original post

0 Upvotes
jennysowyrda
Solution
Community Manager

Hi @louiscrush,

 

@MFrankJohnson is correct that there is no way to "undo" deleting a user.

 

The leads who were associated with that user won't be deleted, however, their owner will change to "deactivated user" (see screenshot).

Screen Shot 2018-10-22 at 1.33.37 PM.png

If you did want to sort by the owner and reassign the contacts after you've deleted the user, you can add the user back (using the same email address) and the contacts will reassociate with their owner automatically. Then, once they are reassigned you can delete the user. 

 

Thanks,
Jenny

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2
MFrankJohnson
Solution
Thought Leader

_hubspot-button-accept-as-solution-gif-v00.gif

 

Q: When we removed the user we lost old existing leads that we’re previously tagged under her were actually lost.

Is there any way we can un-do that action and then have those leads regained? Basically all our old inbound leads were listed “Contact Owner” as that user and now that her account is no longer within Hubspot we’re no longer able to connect with the contacts.

Could we change it back and then recover these leads in Hubspot under the contact owner.?

 

Short A: n/a

 

Longer A:

Haven't seen HubSpot support 'undo' a delete user action, but hey, there's a 1st time for everything. That being said, deleting a HubSpot user should NOT delete any contact records owned by them.

[Need confirmation from HubSpot Support: @jennysowyrda]

 

We typically see HubSpot 'teams' lose access / visibility when a team member owner is removed from the team (or deleted).  This is because "Users with Team ownership permissions can access records owned by any members of their assigned team(s) and, if you have parent-child teams (Enterprise accounts only), the members of their team's child teams.".

(see image)mfjlabs-screenshot-HubSpot user permissions guide-teams-20181017-003654.png

 

 

- see HubSpot user permissions guide

 

Solution: Have a non-team member with access to all contacts reassign the contacts to an existing team member.

 

Can't wait to see what we can help you build on HubSpot today.

 

Best,
Frank

Remote  B2B Digital Marketing Manager


hubspot-solutions-signature-mfrankjohnson-v05.png

MFrankJohnson.com | Connect on LinkedIn

Find posts quickly ... accept this solution now.

 

Note: The date of each post here is increasingly important as HubSpot evolves to be the #1 CRM platform of choice world-wide.

-- Visit

 

Hope that helps.

 

Be well,
Frank


HubSpot's Hiring World-Wide!

View solution in original post

0 Upvotes
jennysowyrda
Solution
Community Manager

Hi @louiscrush,

 

@MFrankJohnson is correct that there is no way to "undo" deleting a user.

 

The leads who were associated with that user won't be deleted, however, their owner will change to "deactivated user" (see screenshot).

Screen Shot 2018-10-22 at 1.33.37 PM.png

If you did want to sort by the owner and reassign the contacts after you've deleted the user, you can add the user back (using the same email address) and the contacts will reassociate with their owner automatically. Then, once they are reassigned you can delete the user. 

 

Thanks,
Jenny

View solution in original post