Workflow Fluke Woes

eeghbal4
Participant

Decided that there needs to be a support thread for those "oh **bleep**!" moments -- especially those of us who are a one person shop!

Fluke 1: last week. Accidentally sent an email to a list that should be sent Dec 31. Had to send the "oops, please disregard" email which was fine.

Fluke 2: messed up my workflow condition and accidentally enrolled our whole contact list (about 1700 people) in a workflow that was set to a specific audience. They received one email. But may also have received "Out of Office" emails from my coworker who's on vacation this week. Big, old, messy mess up! 

Best/worst part: I've been using Hubspot for 5 years and these are the first times I've messed up like this! Ugh. 

Anyone else need support?

12 Replies 12
jennysowyrda
Community Manager

Thanks for sharing @eeghbal4! Mistakes happen and if we can learn from them - and learn from each others' - we'll all be better from it! 🙂 

@MFrankJohnson@Bryantworks@Josh@Krystina@sharonlicari@joshua-paul@willsmith do you have any mistakes that we can learn from? 

MFrankJohnson
Thought Leader

Thanks for the ping, @jennysowyrda ...

Do you mean mistakes like the time we imported 70K contacts and forgot to set an 'update flag' to differentiate the 70K updated contact records from the additional 35K non-updated records?
Timeframe: Those were the days before HubSpot auto-tracked imported contacts.
Lesson Learned: Having a good backup is like having a time machine. (literally)

Or, the sleepless nights troubleshooting mysterious workflow issues before we fully embraced using a workflow delay action at the beginning of our workflows.
Timeframe: Too long ago to remember.
Lesson Learned: One of the hardest types of workflow problems to troubleshoot is intermittent where platform performance fluctuations alone cause symptoms to change.

Truth is ...
We're always experimenting, so honestly can't remember a time when we weren't making 'mistakes'.
- see slide