Lists, Lead Scoring & Workflows

LShepard6

Handling one-time lists

SOLVE

When we sponsor events, we get a one-time mailing list of attendees which we are then supposed to delete. What are best practices for loading, using, and then deleting the list? Can they be bulk-deleted? Are there any GDPR concerns?

1 Accepted solution
danmoyle
Solution
Most Valuable Member | Elite Partner

Handling one-time lists

SOLVE

Hi @LShepard6. If these folks have opted into their information being shared through the event, then techincally you're okay (I'm not a lawyer). As for the upload and deleting of the list, you can bulk delete HubSpot contacts pretty easily. 

I might think about the strategy here though. If you have permission to email them as a third party, can you email them and include an opt-in option like "download this offer" or "sign up for this webinar" so they choose to engage with you? Then those who do, don't need to be deleted because they've opted in. 

That's my two cents! 😁

Did my answer help? Please "mark as a solution" to help others find answers. Plus I really appreciate it!

Dan Moyle

HubSpot Advisor

LearningOps | Impulse Creative

emailAddress
dan@impulsecreative.com
website
https://impulsecreative.com/

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2
karstenkoehler
Hall of Famer | Partner
Hall of Famer | Partner

Handling one-time lists

SOLVE

Hi @LShepard6,

This depends a bit on the exact legal requirements that come with the lists. I'll also preface my reply by saying that it does not constitute legal advice.

In general, in very easy words, the GDPR wants you to not keep data where there isn't any reason to keep it. If there isn't a legal basis for continuing to process someone's data or to communicate with these contacts, they should go.