Knowledge Base Tool

AStewartITI
Contributor

Long article vs short Q&As

SOLVE

I'm a HubSpot newbie building a stand alone knowledge base (no website content). It is populated with fairly complex information for businesses trading with Europe. I want my users to be able to ask specific questions in the KB search and get a short answer to their query. I also want them to have access to a comprehensive long article covering all aspects of the same subject.

The search can't pull information from in the body of a long artice. It isn't reading the H3 level headings or text with anchors. So the user must go to a full article (maybe four A4 pages of copy) and find their answer (I'm including anchored contents lists).

I  had thought about also posting short Q&A style articles to answer the specific user questions - but I know this will damage SEO by duplicating the same information. I'd just be lifting paragraphs from the long article and posting them seperately so that the search surfaces a specific answer.

My question is, would posting the Q&As in the Knowledge Base with a No Index robots.txt solve the SEO problem or is it still just messy bad practice? Any other bright ideas?

1 Accepted solution
danmoyle
Solution
Most Valuable Member | Elite Partner

SOLVE

@AStewartITI the myth of duplicate content is one that persists today, but has been debunked. I wouldn't worry about that for SEO, honestly. However, if you're concerned, I'd add that no-index feature, yes. 

Hope that helps! 

Did my answer help? Please "mark as a solution" to help others find answers. Plus I really appreciate it!

Dan Moyle

HubSpot Advisor

LearningOps | Impulse Creative

emailAddress
dan@impulsecreative.com
website
https://impulsecreative.com/

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10
danmoyle

SOLVE

Hi @AStewartITI and welcome to the Community! Thanks for the tag @PamCotton🙂