Humans of HubSpot

sharonlicari
Community Manager
Community Manager

Humans of HubSpot: Stefen Phelps

Hey Community, 

This week we want to spotlight Stefen Phelps, you may know him as @stefen on the Community.

Stefen-Squircle - Stefen Phelps.png

Stefen shared some insight about what he does for work, how he started with HubSpot and what he does in his free time! Discover what Stefen told Brian Halligan when they met at a HUG event!

Tell us about yourself

I'm a nerd that enjoys tech more than usual, quality food/drinks with quality people. I'm also a dad and I am very much the typical dad meme personality so watch out for dry jokes and me grilling in the backyard on the weekend after a fresh mowing of the yard of course.

How did you start using HubSpot? Was it in your current role, or a different role?

I started using HubSpot after getting hired by a small marketing agency (at the time) in Tampa, Florida back in 2014. Funny story: after I first got hired and was learning HubSpot we attended a local HUG that Brian Halligan came to speak at. After the event, he asked me if I liked the new HubSpot COS. I couldn't say "I don't know, I haven't finished the HubSpot academy course yet" so I just said "Yeah, it's great!" and tried to pretend I knew what I was talking about 🤣

Tell us a little bit about your company and your position.

Kelp Creative Agency was born from an extremely talented designer (Luke Kenney) and a developer (myself) that wanted to take charge (no offense, marketers). The things we are great at include making killer looking responsive designs, accessible UIs, and performant web applications. We feel that if you are just empathetic with your end-user (your personas) we are able to create exactly what they want — which in turn will generate all the results — without having to resort to any type of shady strategy.