Humans of HubSpot

sharonlicari
Community Manager
Community Manager

Humans of HubSpot: Mike Eastwood

Hey Community, 

This week we want to spotlight Mike Eastwood, you may know him as @Mike_Eastwood  in the Community.

Screenshot 2020-12-01 at 15.12.33.png

Discover what Mike does for work, how he started with HubSpot, what type of dinner parties he likes to host, and since when.

Tell us about yourself

I introduce myself as a "Marketing Geek". While most marketers are at the "coloring in" end of marketing, I'm definitely at the "data driven - code based" end of marketing. Which seems ironic because I trained as a product designer, and when I studied we didn't have access to computers – so everything was done with coloring in.

How did you start using HubSpot? Was it in your current role, or a different role?

When I came to the obvious decision – we need a CRM – I tried everything: Microsoft, Zoho, Insightly, Active Campaign, Confusionsoft, Ontraport.

I always knew HubSpot was the best but it took me a while to rationalize the cost (this was before the Starter and Free Tiers – which we now love for our smaller customers). And, as we've grown, HubSpot has grown with us.

Tell us a little bit about your company and your position.

After a decade, having built hundreds of websites I had a B.F.O. (Blinding Flash of the Obvious) – Nobody really wants a website. 

What they really want is more traffic, more leads and more of the right type of customer. So, Webalite changed from being a company that built websites to a company that helps businesses grow and the website is the byproduct. Yes, you still need a website. 

Webalite [https://www.webalite.com] is based in Wellington, New Zealand and we work with clients in Australia, USA and New Zealand.

What do you do for fun outside of work?

Dinner parties – I love to cook... and eat. Every Tuesday Night I host a "pot luck" dinner party mostly in Wellington, New Zealand, and have done every Tuesday since April 1999.