HubSpot Ideas

amandafann

Usage stats/view history for Reports and Dashboards

As a Hubspot Admin, I would like to be able to access the view history and stats on the usage of our dashboards to gain insight on which users are actively using/accessing which dashboards.

Format could be similar to the Dashboard "Activity Log," with a list of user names and time stamp for when it was viewed.  Then there could also be a column/data point in the "All Dashboards" view for "Last Viewed" with user name and timestamp, like the "Last Updated" column, so that you can sort by the most recently viewed dashboards. 

My Use Case:

When I joined my organization and took over as Hubspot admin on the existing account, we were near our max number of dashboards. They had been created by various users, past admins and agencies over the years. I could see when they had last been updated, but had no way to confirm (in Hubspot) which ones were actively referenced by the team and leadership on a regular basis.  Many were created and then forgotten and therefore needed to be deleted.  Worse, I came across reports that were inaccurate, using the wrong properties or missing filters, and needed to prioritze auditing and updating them for accuracy. Overall, having usage stats on which users are accessing which Dashboards and Reports would help admins make data-driven decisions on managing the tool.

Additional Use Case: When you reach the max number of dashboards (25 for professional; 50 for enterprise), be able to make a data-driven decision and business case to either:

1) delete dashboards to stay within the max allowed (and know which dashboards, especially those owned by others, based on data that hey haven't been accessed in X amount of time);

OR

2) upgrade to the Reporting Add-On to increase the number of dashboards because you have the data to support that you need them.

I'm sure the Community can think of additional use cases for dashboard usage stats.

Thanks for considering!