HubSpot Ideas

bradgerlach

Different Title Tag than Page Title

Currently, whatever the page or blog post title is, the title tag <title> is the same. This is extremely limiting. A great strategy I use to increase CTR is to use different words and even brackets. However, I don't want these in my post title. Instead, I would like to be able to have a longer, more explanatory title on the site. 

When a person arrives on a blog post, it is important to have the title to explain what they are getting. However, you can't always do that in 600 pixels Arial font 16px, which is what Google use for title in the listing. A succesful strategy that I have been using for a few years now is using bracket and other simples to increase CTR and having the title longer. Having a longer title also helps you to incorporate a secondary keyword phrase, which is another successful SEO strategy I use. 

With the use of Yoast plugin, WordPress sites have had this ability for almost ever, but HubSpot's CRM pigeon holes you into only having a title that fits in Google's search titles. 

39 Kommentare
shamaleyte
Teilnehmer/-in | Diamond Partner

The workaround that can be applied is to use the HTML version of the blog template. 
For the custom page title,  go and add a custom parameter inside of the "additional <head> markup" section of the template. 
Step1.png

This way, you will be able to choose what title you want to use for the page title rather than the blog title. 

{% text "page_title" label="Page Title", value="", export_to_template_context=True %} 

After you create & give the final touches to your blog template, do the following

• In the left sidebar menu, click the Actions dropdown menu and select Clone to HTML. The template in HTML will open in a new tab.

Inside this new HTML template that you generated from your blog template, you will see that there is the <title> tag set by HS like shown in the screenshot. 

Step2.png