HubSpot Ideas

clairebrown_

Description Field in Reports on Dashboard

In the dashboards, there should be a description area below the report title on each report. It'll help anyone, regardless of team or role, understand the filters applied to and the goal of the report. It'd be cleaner than trying to include a brief description in the title itself.

47 Replies
jolson829
Participant

As a sales operations manager I would LOVE to add report descriptions because we have hundreds of reports in the system and different ways of cutting data and in current state I field several questions monthly of my leadership teams and end users wondering what certain reports mean, or why one report is different from another. 

An example is we can look at lead generation two ways - 1) MQLs generated by marketing and assigned or 2) ALL leads created by any channel. Leadership teams call both of those MQLs casually, so I'm constantly having to explain why one "Lead Report" has more on it than another one. Another use case for descriptions is I make a lot of "check engine" reports and would like to explain to the Sales Directors what their next step should be. Like "This report is showing leads created in the last 24 hours and not contacted yet. Either have your rep call within the next hour or have them clean up their hygiene/log their call to reflect engagement." 

Right now, an individual manager or leader in the company can't just casually look at dashboards and understand what's going on.. they need to be explained. This would take a lot of that heavy lifting off of our small sales operations team and lead to better decision making across all teams.

jenniferlim
HubSpot Employee

I'd like to be able to add a description when creating custom reports. At this time it just says "This is a custom Contacts/Activities/etc report" which isn't very helpful in telling my team what it's reporting on.

Msyvrais
Key Advisor