Email Marketing Tool

PurpleDuckie

E-Mail Newsletter Lists

SOLVE

I am trying to create a list of users who have opted in for an e-mail newsletter. The issue I am having, is I am not sure what properties indicate whether they have signed up or unsubscribed. 

I have a newsletter signup on our website (shopify) and it creates a contact. The contact is set to "Subscriber" in Lifestyle stage and Accepts Marketing is set to "True".  I did a test e-mail and unsubscribed, but the only change I could see is that Lifestyle Stage changes to Lead.  Accepts Marketing is still set to True.

So how can I accurately manage a list? I only want to e-mail people who have opted in and have not unsubscribed, but these people might be set to different lifestyle stages. 

Additionally, I imported newsletter contacts with a .CSV file (they were subscribed on a different platform) and it did not allow me to change their Accepts Marketing status. While they have all opted in to receive e-mails and have not unsubscribed, some of them had their Accepts Marketing status set to False in Hubspot. I imported them with a new property: Newsletter Subscription set to Subscribed with additional options of Unsubscribed / Neither and through forms I can use this for newsletter subscriptions. However, I don't know how to switch it to "Unsubscribed" when they opt out of e-mails. Is this something that can be done? 

1 Accepted solution
PurpleDuckie
Solution

E-Mail Newsletter Lists

SOLVE

I filed a support ticket and received an answer there.

For those that may need it:

I was looking at the wrong properties. The property that indicates opting out of e-mails is "opted out of email marketing information."  I can't change that setting based on importing through lists. 

3. Is the only property you have for seeing who wants to receive your newsletter the lifecycle stage?