Email Marketing Tool

NataliePatton
Participant

Remove Hover Link in Marketing Email

SOLVE

Question: I am looking to see what and where I would need to put the code to remove the pop-up in emails when you hover over images and links (I believe this is called the tooltip). 

For background: I have 3 domains in HubSpot and I send marketing emails for all. When an email is sent via HubSpot Marketing and a user hovers over images or hyperlinks in that email, it shows the Primary URL (domain A) that’s set in our HubSpot settings, even though the image or link itself doesn’t go to that domain but is instead on Domain B or C.

This is what it what I'm trying to hide: example of hoverexample of hover

I'm hoping to edit the email template in HubSpot to hide the tooltip, but I'm not sure what that code is or where it would go in the HubSpot Design Manager.

1 Accepted solution
piersg
Solution
Key Advisor

SOLVE

I'm not an expert on this, but I think the only two things you could do to shorten the link for users on hover are 

1) disable link tracking in Hubspot emails totally (which isn't really ideal)

or

2) use a URL shortener, either the Hubspot one in Reports > Analytics Tools > Tracking URL builder, or something like bitly, which will give you a URL like https://hubs.ly/01abc_23

It's possible to achieve what you want using JS on a website but, of course, JS doesn't work in email for good reason.

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13
EAGMark
Contributor

SOLVE

I have to agree with the original post and some of the responses, that we want to track the click, but that massive link with all the campaign information in there looks so spammy. I've turned off the campaign tracking for these links and it still shows the same thing.

MatzeNowak

SOLVE

Heya, is there by chance any news on this?