Email Marketing Tool

OlgaKhadieva
Participant

How can i make a CTA button displayed in Outlook when images are blocked?

SOLVE

Hi, I am new to Hubspot and I first reached out to support with this question. They told me that certain Outlook clients will block the CTA is image blocking is on. I wonder if there is a workaround for that? For example, has anyone tried to create a CTA using an html code with css styles (for example a table with a single cell with orange background) and then add a Hubspot CTA tracking URL to the text in the cell). Or are there any other solutions?

Thanks!

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
MFrankJohnson
Solution
Thought Leader

SOLVE

2000px-Ok_sign_font_awesomeDoes my post help answer your question?

Help the Community by marking it as SOLVED

Q: How can i make a CTA button display in Outlook when images are blocked?

Short A: You can't 'MAKE' anything happen that any email client expressly disallows.

Longer A:

The workaround is to use either a button CTA or a link CTA. However, even in the case of a button CTA which is CSS, Outlook (and any other email client) can opt to block buttonization code.

We've even seen Outlook (2016) block the alt text and CTA links in link CTAs, so ...

Guess it really comes down to how significant Outlook clients are for your use case.

Another option, depending on your use case, is to use plain text email. Should be able to find research and case studies about the effectiveness of plain email despite users saying they prefer html email. In fact, HubSpot did their own research (2015) supporting just that.
- see Niti Shah's article entitled, Plain Text vs. HTML Emails: Which Is Better? [New Data]

Just a thought.

Good luck on your projects.

Best,
Frank

share-on-Linkedin-Button-75x19.png 

hubspot-forum-signature-badge-v01.png

www.MFrankJohnson.com

Please include @MFrankJohnson in your message if you'd like me to reply.