Email Marketing Tool

daniel_refinery

Asset download and header customization in email

SOLVE

I'm new to developing in Hubspot. I am working on building an email template that comes from a form that a visitor fills out. The visitor fills out their information to receive an asset (in this case an ebook, but the customer wants it to be customizable so that they can choose something else in the future), and an email is sent to them. The header of the email is the name of the asset, and the "Download Now" button downloads the ebook (or PDF or whatever file they choose in the future). I have the email styled and formatted, and a button built in that downloads a specific file (the ebook) but isn't customizable so that, when the email sends, the client's chosen file is attached to the "Download Now" button. I have looked all over the place for something that might help me with this. Do I need to create variables like `asset.name` or `asset.file` and have those populate the email? Where would I put these variables? Don't know how to do this. Any guidance would be helpful. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
MFrankJohnson
Solution
Thought Leader

SOLVE

Once a visitor submits a HubSpot form the properties (fields) are stored in the HubSpot CRM. Using HubL in the email template, you can customize your email to include information from the HubSpot CRM ('personalization tokens').
- see Personalize your HubSpot content

If the HubSpot form is specific to one piece of content (e.g., eBook01), you can simply hard code the email. However, if the form is used to accept requests for multiple content pieces (e.g., eBook01, eBook02, eBook03, etc.), you'll want HubSpot to store which content piece in the CRM. (using personalization tokens from above)
- see Pass contact property values with hidden form fields

Once done, you'd use a workflow to trigger your email based on which content piece was selected.
- see Choose your workflow actions