Email Deliverability

kaburke
HubSpot Employee
HubSpot Employee

Simplifying Common Email Deliverability Terms

I am a Technical Consultant on the EMEA Professional Services Team and one of my specialities is Email Deliverability.  I am frequently brought into situations where customers are having issues with their email sends to assist them.  I liken email deliverability to SEO - everybody has a general idea of what is definitely important, opinions about what could be impacting it and some tricks but in reality, the algorithms change every day and each user has a completely different experience.  The exact same can be said for email deliverability.  In this post, I will be taking some common functionalities associated with email deliverability and explaining on a SUPER high level (and honestly a bit strange) what the functionalities mean. Buckle up for the weird....

Email deliverability is two-fold.  It is gaining access into the mailbox and also placement in the inbox.

Take a moment to think about email providers as nightclubs.  You have the really strict, asks for three different forms of ID, over 30's nightclub.  There is the standard over 21's nightclub that you have to be wearing good shoes and no tracksuits allowed.  Finally, there is the dodgy, everyone is underage, wearing tracksuits and runners nightclub. Each of the nightclubs has different rules and criteria you need to meet in order to get in. 

200.gif

This is the same for email providers; if you meet their particular rules and you have a good reputation you will get into their nightclub (mailbox).  These rules can change dependent on management decisions, that can change at any time.

If you have an amazing reputation and are 'known' as a big deal that everyone wants to talk to, then you will not only get into their nightclub (mailbox) but you will also get into their VIP area (the inbox rather than spam/trash etc).