Content Strategy & SEO

Abnaz

See which keywords brought visitors to my website

SOLVE

Newbie here, I wanted to know what keywords do leads viewers to my website. I have installed google search console and integrated it. over there I can see all the reports like clicks and impressions. but i would like to know if it's possible to know the exact keywords which worked to get people to reach my website.

Thank you all 

1 Accepted solution
kmcready
Solution
Participant

SOLVE

Hey @Abnaz this is a great question when starting out with SEO and using tools to help understand performance, metrics, and optimizations.

To answer your question, you can view the keywords that brought users to your site through Google Search Console (GSC) under the Performance tab.

From there, look at the Queries tab - this is the list of keywords related to the pages displayed on Google's SERP (search engine results page). To understand it further and find which keywords brought users to your site, look at it this way:

• Top queries: the list of keywords that searchers typed into Google and a page from your website was displayed on the SERP. For example, a query could be "what is SEO" (or something on that list related to your site).
  • Clicks: to the right of each query is the number of clicks to your website that the query generated. This means that when someone typed in one of your queries and it says 50 clicks, that many searchers visited your website from that query. "what is SEO - 50 clicks" means 50 people visited your site for that query in the timeframe above.
  • Impressions: the number of times a page from your website appeared on Google for the given query. Meaning if your impressions for "what is SEO" is 3,250, then a page from your site appeared on Google that many times when a searched typed it in