Content Strategy & SEO

HSeeley
Participant

Difference between a related keyphrase and a keyphrase

SOLVE

Hi all. I'm brand new to the HubSpot Community, and to SEO! As a beginner, I still have much to learn so I'll throw one of those "keeps me awake at night" questions. 😅

What's the difference between a related keyphrase and a keyphrase synonym? Can Google make a distinction between related/synonym keyphrases and a focus keyphrase, or do they both "equally count" towards rankings?

2 Accepted solutions
danmoyle
Solution
Most Valuable Member | Elite Partner

SOLVE

Hey there @HSeeley! Welcome to the HubSpot Community 😊 

Thank you for the tag @MiaSrebrnjak!

Here are two resources I found on this subject, outside of HubSpot. This tells me that 1) testing is key and 2) variation is important. 

I'd also share these two HubSpot resources to consider when thinking about evolving SEO:

As for Google's distinction and where importance is placed, from what I've seen it's hard to know exactly without testing your specific use case continuously. I would recommend using them both and deciding what's performing better. 

Did my answer help? Please "mark as a solution" to help others find answers. Plus I really appreciate it!

Dan Moyle

HubSpot Advisor

LearningOps | Impulse Creative

emailAddress
dan@impulsecreative.com
website
https://impulsecreative.com/

View solution in original post

kmcready
Solution
Participant

SOLVE

Hey @HSeeley this is actually a FANTASTIC question when it comes to keyword research, content writing, and on-page optimizations. 

Simply put the difference between a related keyphrase (also known as LSI Keywords) and synonyms are their relation to the original keyword.

A related keyphrase is a term that doesn't have the same meaning, but more of a complimentary term for. For example, an LSI keyword for "seasons" would be "fall, summer, spring, winter" as they are related to the word "seasons".

A synonym would be "cars" and "automobiles".