CMS Development

ErinK
Participant

Updating Font on Website

Hello:

Does anyone have a resource to find font files. I need Myriad Pro and Calibri. These are not on googlefonts. Also, how difficult is it to add to the css style sheet. I have some CSS experience but not a ton. The client doesnt have the two fonts in their style guide. One other question, would you recommend also using serif font as the last option in case a broswer or email provider doesnt support Myriad Pro and Calibri?

Thanks for the help!

0 Upvotes
8 Replies 8
Jsum
Key Advisor

Updating Font on Website

@ErinK,

There are a couple of methods for adding fonts to your site.

Google fonts is the easiest but has the least amount of fonts because it is free and open to use. 

Typekit from Adobe allows you to create importable font kits, similar to how google font works, and I believe they have more fonts. You have to specify which urls can use your kit which should include Hubspot's preview and sandbox staging url. You have to have an adobe subscription and I am not sure what the minimum for that is. I get the full suite for $45 a month and Typekit is included.

The third option is to use @fontface to call the font files from your server. You have to have at least one file type of the font you would like to use (.ttf, .eot, .svg, .woff, .woff2) in order to get this going, but you need all of those file types to make it work. Take the font file and go to one of:

https://www.fontsquirrel.com/
https://transfonter.org/
https://www.web-font-generator.com/

You will want to upload your font file and mess with any options as you see fit. What any of the above will do is take your font file and duplicate and convert it into the required file types. I think all of them but definitely font squirrel provides a .css file with the @fontface referencing those font files as well. All of this will all come back out of the generator as a .zip file.