CMS Development

bjones

Creating Cookies for Phone number tracking - or another solution?

SOLVE

Greetings, folks. This is my first post here, so thanks in advance for any responses. I also apologize if this post is a redundant question - I'm still learning HubSpot. 

I am helping out one of my clients (Actually former employer) with their site that is hosted within Hubspot. Prior to moving to Hubspot, I managed the site, and using PHP was able to create a cookie to store a tracking phone number that was passed through using a URL parameter (For example - www.domain.com?phone=555-555-1212). What I would do for this was replace the default phone number on the site with one stored in the cookie, in order to track certain users throughout the site, and furthermore, if they came back to the site within a 30 day period. 

When the site was moved to Hubspot, I had already left the company, and wasnt involved in the migration of the site. The company that did it used javascript to handle the dynamic phone number (Grabbing the URL parameter and displaying it). The problem with this is that if someone clicks to a new page, or comes back a week later, that tracking phone number is gone, and there's no way to capture that person's phone call after they navigate from the landing page. 

Is there a way to create cookies using hubspot, and display a value of a cookie within a hubspot page? Or, is there a different way to handle this that I am not thinking of? I don't necessarily need code examples or anything like that. I'm just asking as a general way to handle it. 

Thanks so much in advance, and I look forward to getting my chops up with Hubspot!

Cheers,

Brian

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
bjones
Solution

SOLVE

Actually, the developers didn't use javscript for the cookies. They used some other method to display the phone numbers, but since it wasn't a cookie, nothing was persistent. 

I got this to work using javascript cookies, so thanks to all that responded!