CRM

sjudson
HubSpot Product Team
HubSpot Product Team

Should I import my contacts or companies first into HubSpot CRM?

I’m a Customer Experience Manager at HubSpot focused on the CRM tools. Over the past 8 months, I’ve delivered over 120 webinars to new users and customers of the HubSpot Sales products.

This one comes up often and it’s a very important question – after all, we want you to have a CRM of clean data and clarity during imports is key! Generally, the best practice is to import just your contacts into HubSpot. However, you should ask yourself the following questions first:

1. Does your sales team do account-based selling?
2. Do you prospect into companies instead of prospecting into specific people at those companies?
3. Do you only have company information when first determining who to reach out instead of contact information?
4. Do you have unique company data that you’ll wish to store in HubSpot?

OK, so if you’ve answered YES to any of the above, I’d recommend starting by importing a CSV list of companies. If not, let’s have you start by importing contacts. WHY?

For every contact (with an domain-based email address) that is added to CRM, HubSpot will automatically create a company for you and associate contacts to that company based on email domain. Let’s take an example:

1. I import a list of contacts and one of those contacts is John Smith from Coca Cola Company (email: john.smith@cocacola.com).
2. HubSpot will add the contact and create a company called Coca Cola automatically because the contact’s email domain is @cocacola.com.
3. Any other contacts that I may import or add later with a @cocacola.com address will automatically be associated to the company called Coca Cola (no duplicates will be created) because of the domain: cocacola.com.