Not all contacts listed on Contacts page?

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

I'm very new to HubSpot (having just purchased Sales & Marketing this week), so this may be a dumb question...but here goes.

I imported a list of about 150 companies yesterday - each company had at least one contact in it. When I go into the Sales module and select Companies, I see my list of all the companies. I went through several of the records and I can verify that they all have at least one contact.

But when I go into Contacts, the list only shows me 33 contacts. I can preview each of those contacts and I'm able to see that they are associated with a company...and there doesn't seem to be any pattern to the contacts that do or don't show up in this list.

I'm really confused...I was assuming that Contacts would show me a contact-centric view of my database (i.e., by people names) and should have at least the same number of contacts as I have companies (if not more, because contact to company relationship is many to one).

0 Upvotes
3 Replies
Regular Advisor

Hi @jjones

Did you import the contacts separately? HubSpot does not support the simultaneous import of contacts and companies, or the import of company-contact associations. 

Is it possible that the 33 contacts you see were created by other means and associated automatically with their company by HubSpot based on domain/website? 

Let me know if you need any more help.

Phil Vallender
HubSpot Diamond Partner
Blend Marketing
0 Upvotes
Occasional Contributor

@Phil_Vallender thanks for your answer. 

I linked HubSpot up with my MailShake account. Doing this creates contacts in HS from the email addresses I use in a given campaign. I think that the 33 contacts I see are ones that came in from MailShake. The odd thing is...if I search for a contact that I know is in the database, but isn't in that list of 33 that are shown, that contact still shows up in the search results.