CRM

s-stringa
Contributor

Importing historical objects and dealing with create date

SOLVE

Hi everyone,

I’m new to hubspot and to CRM in general.

Since few months I am trying to set up and configure hubspot (free tools) for my company in order to test it in our reality and convince the management, who is skpeptical, to adopt it.

However, I encountered an obstacle while importing data from our current archive (excel sheets) of contacts, company and deals. The create date of each object is automatically set to the import date. This causes all predefined reports and calculated fields, based on create date, to give wrong data (historic objects are not new objects for my business).

I know I can create a custom field, but firstly this can not automatically be set on the newly created objects and it would be not possible to set filters that work both on historic data and on new data. Second all the predefined reports and calculated fields give unuseful and misleading data.

I am sure I am on the wrong way.

Is there a way to set the real create date during the import of historical data in order to be able to use the default reports and calculated fields?

Thank you in advance,

Simona.

1 Accepted solution
AdamLPW
Solution
Key Advisor

SOLVE

Hi @s-stringa,

Which report, in particular, are you trying to amend?  

There are SOME free reports that aren't based on create date (https://knowledge.hubspot.com/dashboard/customize-your-dashboards).  If you click "Add report" in the top-right, then filter to show Deals reports...

I refuse to pay for the reporting module (!) - what I've taken to doing is exporting contacts and deals to .csv.  I then have an Excel template (.xltx) on OneDrive with a "data" tab (tab 1) and some charts on tabs 2 & 3.  I create a new spreadsheet from my template, copy and paste the exported data into tab 1, then my charts automatically update.  

It's not ideal, but it's free and very easy really!