CRM

IanMain

How to tag contacts from different sources

I have around 1,000 people in a LinkedIn Group and about 200 in a Meetup. The common thing with these people is that they are interested in a thing called 'Virtual Agile Meetings' (a free monthly Zoom presentation).

It's very hard to make announcements to the people in the LinkedIn group (people often miss the posts). So I want to use HubSpot to capture peoples email addresses so I can send them news via emails.

In the future, I want to create a different list of people who sign up for a different newsletter from my web site.

Should I be using contact the property called 'OriginalSource'. How?

Man I feel like a total noob at this.

Thanks for any help offered 🙂

3 Replies 3
woody
Contributor

@IanMain : 
To import your LinkedIn to Hubspot, you can use a Hubspot Form or you can import the excel file included your contacts if you have that file. Or you can also use a 3rd party tool, for example linkedhub.io like @GuyTaylor has said above. "Original Source" property won't help for that.

To organize contacts, you can create a custom property, name it " LinkedIn Newsletter" or whatever you like. The field type of that property may be Dropdown select or Multi checkboxes. If each contact only sign up for 1 newsletter, you can use Dropdown select type. But if a contact can sign up for many newsletters, you must use Multi checkboxes type. 

GuyTaylor
Guide

Hi @IanMain, a good question. Full disclosure I work at linkedhub.io.

To move your contacts from LinkedIn into HubSpot you might try linkedhub.io. When visiting a LinkedIn profile you will see a 'Sync' button, click this and that's it. The LinkedIn profile is now a HubSpot contact. Might take a small while if you have a large number of contacts, but will certainly work.

Email address - LinkedHub will captures these for you.