CRM

Jane

Duplicated imports on import.

SOLVE

Hello,

I have a master excel list, that contains contacts and companies as far as HubSpot is concerned however some of our contacts are individual buyers who don't have a company...

I have uploaded a CSV including some new properties that I want to capture. I got a lot of error messages and only some items synced with the contact/company profile. I researched why and tried the import a further 6 times. Importing the same excel under contacts and the same again for companies selecting different properties for each. I ended up with duplicates of the same company/contact.

How can I fix this from the excel without having to go back in and update each contact property that was missed (over 500) so really hoping I don't have to 😞   

1 Accepted solution
roisinkirby
Solution
HubSpot Product Team
HubSpot Product Team

SOLVE

Hello @Jane @marvinpsn,

HubSpot will use the Company Domain Name property to de-duplicate companies in your portal. Upon import, the importer tool will look at the values for each company's Company Domain Name property, as long as they match each other exactly, and form a valid URL. If the above two conditions are not met, i.e. if a Comany Domain Name is not included in your portal the companies will not be deduplicated.

As for contacts, these are deduplicated based on email address so be sure to include Email as one of the column headers. When you import a contact that is already in your database, that contact record will be updated with any new property values from your CSV file. In the CRM, it is possible to upload contacts without an email address, but keep in mind that if an email address is not provided, deduplication will not occur.

If you've followed the above processes correctly and are still seeing Companies/Contacts not getting deduplicated, would you please send me a private message with links to two companies who you would have expected to become one? I will the investigate further.