CMS Development

NYIF

Message being clipped in Gmail

I'm currently having an issue where my email messages are being clipped in Gmail. I'm new to HubSpot as our team has just transferred over from SilverPop. These emails are rebuilds of our SilverPop emails, and SilverPop actually doesn't clip the emails in Gmail, even though it's the same amount of content. So they I've called Hubspot support and they told me I should cut content, but that is something that we cannot do (and shouldn't have to do, since SilverPop never clipped the same emails). I've went through Hubspot Academy and done everything they've suggested (not copying items from a word processor, optimizing images, etc.) and nothing seemed to work.

If anyone could assist me on this, it would be greatly appreciated. I've used the HubSpot template builder for these emails, so I thought that it would at least notifiy me when too much content was in the email.

Here are links to the two emails I'm referring to; however, I assume it will happen with our future emails as well that have similar content.

Email 1

Email 2

7 Replies 7
John
Top Contributor | Platinum Partner

Gmail clips emails at 102kb. One of your emails was definitely larger.

1. Hubspot's design manager may be adding extra markup that SilverPop didn't have. (the code may be dirtier)
  2. Are you using custom modules? I inspected your code and there was a lot of css in style tags added in some custom modules, which appeared to be raw html modules.

I like kudos almost as much as cake – a close second.

NYIF

Yes I'm using custom modules for the calendar (as that calendar was successful for us in our SilverPop campaigns, so I didn't want to ditch it). If you have suggestions on how I can recreate it or perhaps how to clean up the code, I'd love your input!

0 Upvotes
John

I agree with what @AngelaHicks said as far as reformatting.