CMS Development

acothron
Participant

using replace for first name on bad data

SOLVE

Greetings Hubl community! I'm new to the platform, just sort of learning on the fly. I've searched to no avail, but I have to figure there is a solution.

We are using {{contact.firstname}} for salutations both in the body content and Subject Lines. 

The problem is, some of the client data has initials for their first name entries. So the salutation would read "Dear C.," for example. The client doesn't like that.

Is there a way to search the strings and specify that there must be more than two characters in order to write out the name? Otherwise, the less than two characters gets the default option instead?

The client would prefer to use Valued Member over C. for instance. 

I'm still learning the syntax, so apologies if this is quite a newbie quesiton.

Thanks for your time and attention.
Best,

AC

1 Accepted solution
mgrubbs
Solution
Participant

SOLVE

Hello "Valued Member" (see what I did there... your name is only 2 characters).

The best (and only) way I can think of is to use a hubl {% if %} conditional in a template.

As far as I know, when using email tokens you are forced to set the default for when there isn't ANY value for that property... Less than ideal, I know.

If you have access to (and are comfortable using) templates, you can very easily accomplish this with the following statement.

{% set fname = contact.firstname|default('') %}
{% if fname|list|length > 2 %}
Dear {{contact.firstname}},
{% else %}
Dear Valued Member,
{% endif %}

This code sets the variable fname equal to a property of contact.firstname (make sure that's the right syntax for firstname). It also has a fallback of an empty string (in case there's no firstname property).

Then we usea list filter (breaks the string into each character) and the length filter (calculates the number of characters) wrapped in an "If statement" which checks if the length is greater than 2.