CMS Development

lewisvrobinson
Participant

Site redesign / Custom theme

Hi all!

I've been tasked with rebuilding an existing HubSpot site from scratch and I'm hoping to get some insight on the best way to approach it. This is my first time working with HubSpot, so forgive my ignorance.
I've downloaded the Vast 'starter theme' (I heard that it's a good idea to use it as a base – is there something else you'd recommend?) and setup my local HubL server.

Goals
Basically the aim is to rebuild the site based on the company's new styleguide/pattern library (which I'm also building). Ideally I'd like to build it in a way that gives the marketing team the ability to quickly build out pages with these components (using Design Manager?) and limit any custom code that needs to be written.

Modules
I'm thinking that Custom Modules would be the best way to achieve this. From what I can tell the only way to create one is in JSON, meaning the majority of the markup would be in an string. Is an alternative approach that I haven't thought of?
I've also seen code like {% linked_image "wizard_module_132975146821281301859956560278824833351" ...%} throughout the codebase. What is the wizard_module_... used for?

Hubspot Grid
From my understanding the COS/design manager uses a version of the Bootstrap v2 grid for layout. If I remove the markup associated with it from the templates, does this break the COS? Should I instead override the selectors?

Staging

Is it possible to create a staging domain/subdomain where I can begin safely uploading the new theme/templates for testing without affecting the live site?

If anyone could point me in the right direction with any of this, or even just some advice for a newby building on the platform, it would be_really_ appreciated.

Thanks!
Lewis

4 Replies 4
MFrankJohnson
Thought Leader

No one has mentioned here yet, so I'll be the odd man out.

Spending time getting the HubSpot CMS Developer certification will be well worth it.