CMS Development

ahemilee
Participant

Simple Styling for Search Results Page

SOLVE

Hello all,

Can anyone help me style a search results page for our website?  I just created it so it uses all the default styles, but I'm not that experienced with CSS to make it look better. I would like to keep it simple with a search box in the center of the page and a light gray background, something like this.  Our current search box is 100% width and when I try to reduce it to 50% and float to the center, it stays on the left side.  It currently looks like this.  Can anyone help me with the design? 

Thank you!

Celina

0 Upvotes
3 Accepted solutions
miljkovicmisa
Solution
Top Contributor | Platinum Partner

SOLVE

Hello @ahemilee ! 
For a block element to be in the middle of its container it needs it left and right margins to be set to auto, so it automatically centers.
In your case you would need the below rules:

.hs-search-field{
    width: 50%;
    margin: 5rem auto 0 auto;
}

As for the background you will need to address the input field, something like the code below:

.hs-search-field__bar form input {
  background-color: #ffffff;
}

If you need any further help, don't hesitate to ask!

If my answer helped you with your issue please mark it as a solution.

View solution in original post

Chris-M
Solution
Top Contributor

SOLVE

Hey @ahemilee
If u also want the grey background you have to locate the container or row of the module. You could give it CSS inline styling with for example:

<div class="row-fluid" style="background: #e3e3e3"> </div>

Or the cleaner methode: just add a class to the <div></div>... lets call the class "lightGreyBG"

For example:
HTML:

<div class="row-fluid lightGreyBG">...</div>​

CSS:

.lightGreyBG {
  background:#e3e3e3;
}

Here u can see a preview how your page could look with @miljkovicmisa (hope you don't mind) CSS and the background color:
I also added the black font color. And adjusted the margin for the grey background.