CMS Development

BCharles
Participant

Section background change for mobile responsiveness

SOLVE

Hi all, 

Apologies if this is a query submitted before. I've searched and searched but no existing code snippets are working for me. 

I am trying to create a new 'Banner' section for our landing pages. However, I want there to be an option to swap out the section's background image for a different mobile-first image. In an ideal scenario, I'll also be able to add in a new image to the Section as well as changing the background image.  This cannot be done in the drag-and-drop editor from the page's "Advanced" html option as I don't have a way to call out the one Section image I want to change. So I am thinking I need to create this as a module in the backend, but I'm wondering if someone has done this before and can share a link to make it easier?

I am a beginner when it comes to writing code, but I can edit our modules fine in HubSpot. Thank you in advance!

Cheers,

Brianna

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
BarryGrennan
Solution
Top Contributor

SOLVE

Then I'd revert to the css method and use Inspect Element in Chrome to find
out the class of the section and I'd of it's parent/ancestor

Barry Grennan

Freelance HubSpot CMS Developer

Website | Contact

View solution in original post

0 Upvotes
5 Replies 5
BarryGrennan
Top Contributor

SOLVE

Hi Brianna, 

It might need to be a custom module.

Is the Banner a premade section in your theme or is it a module itself?

If it's a module you could make use of the "hide this module" feature and have two versions of the banner, one that you hide on desktop and one that you hide on mobile.

If it's a section with a background image you probably can force it to be different with css, something like:

.dnd.area-row-0-background-image { background-image: url(NEW_IMAGE_URL) !important; }