CMS Development

chrispower
Contributor

Real time street address lookup in form field

I am creating a simple registration form containing email, first name, last name, phone number, and street address fields.  For the street address, I would like to add real time autocomplete/lookup functionality, using the smartystreets API documented here: https://smartystreets.com/docs/plugins/website.

I'm new to hubspot development, and not really sure where to start with this, or how it would be structured.

12 Replies 12
tsprunk
Contributor | Diamond Partner
Contributor | Diamond Partner

I know this is an old thread but I stumbled across it when I was trying to figure this out so I figured I'd share my solution:

This can be done with Google Maps API. I'll do my best to explain it below, but you can also hire my agency to do it for you if you'd rather not bother with it (SimpleStrat.com).

To do this, you'll need to add the javascript below to the page where your form will appear. There's also a way to add it to the form embed code directly but I won't get into that here. There are a couple things you'll likely need to edit depending on your form and the fields you want filled in.

This code is currently set up to work for US and Canada is based on the code found on this page: https://developers.google.com/maps/documentation/javascript/examples/places-autocomplete-addressform

// Create the script tag, set the appropriate attributes, be sure to replace "YOURAPIKEY" in the script source url with your Google Maps API Key
var script = document.createElement('script');
script.src='https://maps.googleapis.com/maps/api/js?key=YOURAPIKEY&libraries=places&callback=initAutocomplete';
script.async = true;

// Append the 'script' element to 'head' after the page loads 
window.addEventListener('load', function(){document.head.appendChild(script);})

let autocomplete;
let address1Field;
let address2Field;
let postalField;

function initAutocomplete() {