CMS Development

melaniebell
参加者 | Diamond Partner
参加者 | Diamond Partner

Parent Theme - Child Theme - Cloned Theme Font Troubleshooting

解決

Hi,

I'm building a website on a theme purchased from the marketplace, and trying to update key branding elements like typography and colors. I've followed documentation from the theme developer, I've followed steps from other developers about the new child themes vs cloning (I'm used to cloning to customize).

As I'm comfortable with a lot of code but FARRRR from being a developer, I want to make sure I'm understanding that we should be trying to recreate as few files in the child theme as possible - that if we can use the original templates, we should.

Is that right? 

Appreciate any insight you can share into do's and don'ts.

Thanks,
Melanie

0 いいね!
1件の承認済みベストアンサー
Jnix284
解決策
最優秀メンバー | Elite Partner
最優秀メンバー | Elite Partner

解決

Adding an update here as this post has come up in a recent conversation and the functionalities available for marketplace themes have changed.

It is no longer possible to clone a marketplace theme, the functionality was removed due to the issues that arise from disconnecting it from the marketplace (can't be updated, no bugfixes, etc.)

It is possible to create a child theme, and highly recommended to do so, because it allows for customization while retaining the connection to the original marketplace theme.

There is a child.css and child.js file automatically created where the majority of changes can be made. Depending on the theme, you will likely need an include statement for the theme css for the changes to work propertly.