CMS Development

Giuseppe
Contributor

PageSpeed Insights

SOLVE

Hi there,

is anyone able to help me in settling this issue and remove render-blocking JavaScript? I am not an expert...:-(

PageSpeed Insights.png

0 Upvotes
3 Accepted solutions
dessery
Solution
Member | Platinum Partner

PageSpeed Insights

SOLVE

Hi @Giuseppe

Page Speed Insights is definitely something we do take into consideration and we will always do what we can get to a score as high as possible, but at the same time, if you are running on a CMS of some kind, you have to take into account that you can't get your score to 100 so you have to just not get too hung up on it. It does massively depend on your site but if you can get your score around 70/80, your doing alright.

At the end of the day though, as long as you have made sure that you have done everything that is in your power to do, you should have a pretty decent score. 

It is not uncommon for things to come up in the recommedations that although are true, there is a reason for it being the way it is. as @Jsum has described with the HubSpot stuff. I am sure that if HubSpot could move some of these elements to improve the scores, they would, but sometimes things need to be done in a certain way.

In terms of moving the scripts to the footer, what you want to do is looker in the header of your site (unfortunately it is very difficult to say where this would be without knowing the specifics of your template) and look for bits of code like this:

<script src="http://some-kind-of-url-here.com"></script>  

Then you want to cut that from there, and paste it before the closing </body> tag which will be in your footer somewhere.

Then most importantly, test test test!! As stated, some times things need to be where they are for a reason, and by moving something, you could cause something to break.

I hope that is of some help, sorry I can't give more specifics but it is hard without knowing your project intimately.

Good luck 😉

All the best