CMS Development

jedthehumanoid

New to HUBL - Which languages should I learn

SOLVE

Which languages should I learn so I can master HUBL? Is it Python? Or Javascript?

I'm trying to create custom modules and although I understand Adding the fields and copying the snippets I'm struggling to make the pages work. I'm new to this and although I've got a great HTML and CSS understanding I'm a bit lost when it comes to the coding side. Thanks!

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
Anton
Solution
Recognized Expert | Diamond Partner

SOLVE

Hi  @jedthehumanoid

I've struggled the same way as you a few month ago. Personally I don't think that you'll need something like Python. If you can learn some basic Javascript/jQuery it should be "enough".

Beside that you should(if you haven't already) do the HubSpot Design Certification which you can find in the learning center of your/every portal. If you know HTML and CSS you'll pass it with ease. 😉 It's really helpful to understand the way like HubSpot design manager works and "how to use what".

I've "learned" the "custom module coding" by the hard way after I did the certification(try&error, looking up everything in the docs and combining them). 

With the new design manager it's much easier to write greate modules. 

regards,

Anton

Anton Bujanowski Signature

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11
tjoyce
Recognized Expert | Elite Partner
Recognized Expert | Elite Partner

SOLVE

The |pprint filter is your best friend when it comes to seeing how dicts are structured... sometimes a value can sit at module.body.value and other times it's image.src. use the pprint filter to see the nested dicts.

0 Upvotes
Anton
Solution

SOLVE

Hi  @jedthehumanoid

I've struggled the same way as you a few month ago. Personally I don't think that you'll need something like Python. If you can learn some basic Javascript/jQuery it should be "enough".