CMS Development

johdah
Participant

Inconsistent paths in FTP / design tools

Hi

I'm new to HubSpot and will work with designing templates and landing pages. I'm trying to set up a workflow where I can code in my own editor and use preprocessers for CSS. As a part of this, I'm uploading my own CSS file to HubSpot with FTP.

Now my problem is that the folder structure I see on the FTP does not reflect the folder structure I see in the design tools. For example, see these images:

ftp-view.pngdesign-tools-view.pngI

Here, the CSS-file I uploaded on FTP does not end up in the Templates directory at all, but instead in a custom folder that I have created in the Design Tools. This folder on the other hand does not show at all on FTP.

I'm not sure if I misunderstand how these folders work and where exactly I should put my content. When working in the design tools, it seems perfectly fine to create my own folder and put all my assets in there, instead of spreading them out over a lot of different folders. I'm unaware if there are any issues with this workflow...

So, if anyone could lead me in the right direction here i would appreciate it.

6 Replies 6
tjoyce
Recognized Expert | Elite Partner

@johdah - As convenient as it sounds, to create files and directories through an FTP client, HubSpot recommends that you create files using the design manager or the API. You can then, resync your FTP client to fetch and edit those files but as far as file creation, leave that to the design manager. When you create files through FTP, you aren't assigning them proper permissions as well as certain meta data and HuBL code that the design manager needs.

If this answer helped, please, mark as solved 😄

tim@belch.io | forms.belch.io | Design your own Beautiful HubSpot Forms; No coding necessary.

Drop by and say Hi to me on slack.

johdah
Participant

Thanks, that explains part of it.

However - two questions: